01/13/12: Once in a while

I suppose I should change the name of this blog to a-piece-every-once-in-a-while, but, you see, I do hope to stage a reunion sometime in the future, of posting a daily piece of my mind. Not to mention, to get back to posting a poem-a-day, which, if not sooner, I plan to do again during national poetry month in April. Which is right around the corner, really, along with a bit more daylight.

In the meantime, I am in change-mode once again and planning a future in which, for a while at least, I’m going to be commuting between 2 part time jobs almost 100 miles apart. I’m looking forward happily to working/living in Sequim. And remembering that of the years I spent in NYC, I moved 4 times in the first 2 years, then stayed put in the East Village for about 14 years, which is longer than I’ve lived in any one place in my entire life. And during my last 4 years on the East coast, I moved quite a few times (NYC, Kunkletown, Philadelphia, Allentown), and commuted from one job to another. So this is pretty familiar to me.

Everywhere I’ve lived over the past 30 years, I’ve considered if it would be a good place to retire. Retirement is a code word for having time to write without interruptions. I have always thought that NYC is a wonderful place for elders, in addition to cultural advantages, public transportation is excellent, and everyone delivers to your door. Seattle has its appeal in terms of literary endeavors, and I’ve found some charm here in Tacoma as well. Sequim is also a lovely retirement spot. Not that I can retire quite yet. But I do hope to keep writing, at least once in a while.

This entry was posted in Weather Report. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 01/13/12: Once in a while

  1. Congrats on the new job.

Leave a Reply

