10/20/11: Poetry in Tacoma

I’m happy to report that we have poetry in Tacoma.

Tonight I’m going to a poetry reading at the Gig Harbor Public Library where Tess Gallagher is reading. I could have gone up to Seattle to hear Heather McHugh, but it’s nice to have a choice that’s closer.

I’m also very pleased that I have been invited to join a poetry writing group, and went to my first group meeting this week. Also, there are monthly poetry readings followed by an open mike at a local bookstore, Kings Books.

Tacoma even has a poet laureate! Jose Emmons Turner, who put together the event where I read one of my poems last Sunday.

Not to mention, I’ve probably written more poems in the eight months I’ve lived here than at any other time in my life. It’s all good.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10/20/11: Poetry in Tacoma

  1. mark says:

    Alright!

Leave a Reply

