10/12/11: On Poetry and Medical Journals

I know there are prestigious spots to land a poem, such as Poetry or The New Yorker, and like any poet, of course I would love to land a poem in such a spot someday. But I have also aspired to have poems published in medical journals, a field that is far more open these days to “the humanities”. I was thrilled to have a poem published in the American Journal of Nursing last Julyand recently I’ve been asked to review poems for them, something else that I feel especially pleased about. I’ve had poems published in the Yale Journal for the Humanities in Medicine, and Touch-the Journal of Healing.

On the rejection side of things: I’ve had poems rejected once by Bellevue Literary Review, but will keep sending them my stuff, hoping to get into their Journal someday, it’s an excellent literary journal. And, I’ve submitted poems to the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) on 3 separate occasions now, all were rejected. Although JAMA sounds  like (and is) a conventional medical journal, they display wonderful art on their weekly covers and are committed to publishing poetry in every issue. So it’s been a disappointment to be rejected by them, they have a huge readership, including many medical students around the world.

So imagine my pleasure to have 4 poems (the entire submission) accepted after only 3 days by the Annals of Internal Medicine, another top-line medical journal. I know it’s not Poetry, but for me, it’s quite a thrill. It will likely be several months before they get into print (AIM is a monthly, not a weekly journal), but I just wanted to share something I feel especially pleased about.

This entry was posted in Weather Report. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 10/12/11: On Poetry and Medical Journals

  1. miriam says:

    Yay!!!

  2. mark says:

    Mazel Tov!

  3. Chris Noonan says:

    How wonderful, Risa! I’m very pleased to read this, am thrilled for you.

  4. Sylvia Pollack says:

    I second the Mavel tov! This is great news.

  5. Dave Bonta says:

    I think it’s far better to be published in journals that are widely read by people other than literati than to be published in Poetry or the New Yorker. So good for you! And I had no idea medical journals are so open to poetry — good for them.

  6. Thank you all for your sweet replies and support!

Leave a Reply

