9/19/11: sneak review

If you subscribe to Poetry, or have access to a copy of it, I urge you to take a look at the just released October issue and read the poem by Spencer Reesce, The Road to Emmaus. Read it aloud, slowly. I cannot praise it enough. At moments like this, I regret not having more readers on my blog, as I wish I could bring this poem to the entire world.

Per the contributor’s note, Reece is an Episcopal priest. Here is a review of his first book The Clerk’s Tale, on Poets.org, filed in 2003. Thomas Merton, a Trappist monk and poet no longer living, has long been a touchstone for me. I feel the pull here to read more of Spencer, get to know him.

I will report back.

This entry was posted in Spotlight. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

