9/06/11: every death, a death

My friend’s mother died this morning. Although she was elderly, her sudden decline and death was a shock to the family. My friend is distraught, her grief is raw and palpable over the phone. I remind myself that we only know death from the land of the living. After a death, we feel left behind and lonely and the death can evoke a huge range of emotions, some quite surprising. I remind myself that every death is a loss, a reason for grief, a source of pain and despair.

I wish my friend, and all who have a nearby loss, Godspeed in your time of mourning.

This entry was posted in Graveyard Shift. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 9/06/11: every death, a death

  1. Linda Spalding says:

    I wonder if we grieve our own impending death.

Leave a Reply

