9/03/11: bits and bites

  • If I’m going to be working, I need to fit into the slacks that I haven’t worn all summer. They are a bit tight.
  • I hate tight clothing.  I’d rather stick to sweats really, or go for days sitting at the computer, not speaking to anyone, writing, without a thought about clothing, hair, or grooming.
  • I’ve followed the induction phase of the Atkins diet for the past 7 days, writing down every bite and counting carbs and calories,  without losing a pound. This is very discouraging. I feel like a failure.
  • I’m certain that I’m eating fewer calories on this plan, so it should be working. It’s worked for me before, so what’s up?
  • I dreamt that I got on the scale and had lost 4 pounds. Wish fulfillment, per Freudian theory of dreams. What would Jung say?
  • On the other hand, carb-less, I am noting better energy and much less hunger.
  • It’s a lot of work, shopping, meal planning and counting every bit of food I eat.
  • There is no way I could do this if I were living a more social life—working, eating out, eating with others.
  • I love eggs, but this is way too much meat. This week I’m switching to mainly fish. I got some lovely fresh tuna for today (salad nicoise without potatoes) and the usual tilapia. Shrimp for snacks.
  • Expensive, though.
  • After a week of soy milk, I’ve decided to go back to cows’ milk in my coffee. I mean, it’s my coffee.
  • Last night I made a slew of potato salad for a barbecue I’m going to tonight, my one weekend planned activity.
  • I did taste it, how not to taste? But I added the taste into my carb count (¼th cup potatoes, 1 tsp mayo, 1/8th cup onion/celery.)
  • I’m using measuring cups up the wazoo. It’s kind of fun.
  • Life is certainly a measure of something.
  • Can I enjoy a barbecue without beer? Could you?

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 9/03/11: bits and bites

  1. mark says:

    Sounds like an adventure with all those thoughts, dreams and measuring cups, good healthy fun as well.

  2. Dana says:

    I don’t think you should use measuring cups that have been up your wazoo. I am just saying.

Leave a Reply

