8/11/11: to the beach (reads)

I’m leaving tomorrow to spend a week at the Jersey Shore with my family. I haven’t seen my grandsons since last summer. So I’ll probably have to spend some time hanging out with everyone, having cocktails at dusk on the beach, grilling chicken, slicing New Jersey tomatoes and shucking New Jersey corn. Going to the boardwalk late evenings for ice cream. Drinking micro-brews with my son. Having wonderful arguments about everything. (It’s so fabulous to be part of a Jewish family that loves to argue about philosophical and religious nonsense!)

But, most of all (my dirty little secret) I don’t know any greater pleasure than spending all day, 7 days in a row, on a beach chair, toes in the sand, looking at the waves from time to time, and reading. Well, of course.

So I’ve spent time today choosing my planned beach reads. I can usually put away 8+ novels during a beach week (now including 2 long plane trips), if I don’t get too distracted. So here’s hoping: (a couple of them will depend on whether my package arrives from Amazon before I leave, but most of these I already have or I can load onto my Kindle.)

The New Life, Orhan Parmuk
If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler, Italo Calvino
Eutopia: A Novel of Terrible Optimism, David Nickle
The Sign of Jonas, Thomas Mertin
State of Wonder, Ann Patchet
Let the Great World Spin, Colum McCann
The Tiger’s Wife, Tea Obrecht
The Lake, Banana Yoshimoto
The Way through Doors, Jesse Ball
small memories, Jose Saramago

Tomorrow, before I leave, I’ll select the poetry volumes that I will carry with me.

Oh boy!

This entry was posted in Book Report. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

