7/17/11: strange relations

I received an email from D saying he would be in the area. I responded with my availability, mentioning that A would be visiting me during his time here.

He writes back: Sorry for forgetting, but who is A? 

I reply: She is my brother’s daughter, making her M’s first cousin, maybe you remember that she was the flower girl at M’s wedding?

Later I realize, that since D and I (myself) are M’s parents that makes D, A’s uncle. But given our long separation and divergent pathways, I’m not really surprised that he didn’t remember, or even that I hadn’t made the connection.

This entry was posted in Weather Report. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7/17/11: strange relations

Leave a Reply

