6/02/11: in which the blogger thinks about what to blog about

I’m a bit between sixes and sevens about how make writing a daily blog workable. How to structure daily writing so that I don’t have to snatch at floating thoughts or dig deep into my psyche in order to determine what to write about. It seems it will have to be something that I simply add to my morning doings—coffee, pills, shower, teeth-brushing (and why isn’t it called a teethbrush?), blogging.

I do know that I don’t want to blog about myself. I already have a blog for that.

And I’ll have to be disciplined about time as well. Right now, I can spend an hour thinking and another hour writing (which is great for getting started), but this kind of time is not typically available to me. If I get in the habit of spending too much time each day mulling over what to write, it’s likely to stop me from doing it.

There are possibilities: a dream journal (although I often don’t remember my dreams); daily aphorisms (e.g., Life is short, no need to commit suicide.); daily poems (overly ambitious, I think); daily fiction (ditto); daily creative non-fiction (well, it’s a thought); a reading journal (where I report on what I’m reading, which is certainly possible, since I am always reading something); a weather report (taking the temperature of the day, so to speak); a description of something that caught my attention in the past 24 hours; or perhaps a calendar approach, with recurring topics each assigned to its own weekday.

I’m going sleep on it. Back tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Something else. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 6/02/11: in which the blogger thinks about what to blog about

  1. Good to read your ponderings…. I do it all in one blog, which may be a mistake. But I have made many mistakes. And I am one person, doing it all, whatever it is.

  2. P.S. I love the scene in Shakespeare in Love, when Gwyneth Paltrow is “brushing” her teeth. It’s sort of a gum massage tool thingey…but Nurse offers a spit catcher, as I recall….

Leave a Reply

